Sept 7 – New First Day

The start to this Paleo Challenge was easier the 2nd time around. Steph and I were exhausted when we got home yesterday, so we crashed around 9:30ish, so I got up well-rested this morning and biked to work. No hunger pangs, no carb/insulin-related cravings from my “wild” weekend. Just got to work, felt pretty energetic the whole day (fasting, of course), biked home without that drained feeling, then made dinner:

  • Broccoli and peppers in butter
  • Ground (100% Grass-fed) Lamb in Tomato Sauce with Veggies
  • Shrimp and Andouille Sausage Stew with Spinach
  • One Japanese Yam (small)
  • Fish Oil

Not too shabby. Really, while yams are allowed in paleo, but mainly should reserved for either more athletic people or for every 4-5 days following a workout. But whateves… Not terrible. In fact, it’s good for me. And amazingly, tonight while I’m writing this entry, I’m not craving sugars or milk or those coconut milk/chocolate pops I froze last week. I’m satiated. Also, I’m putting less emphasis on fats this month. While healthy fats are encouraged, for those looking to lose fat and lean out, I should stick to meats, eggs, veggies and minimal fats (lard, butter, coconut oil and fish oil), but without going into excess – basically, eating fats just to include more of them. Now, I’ll try to keep it to what I need for cooking.

Probably eggs and liver tomorrow. That’s all for now.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

