Sept 9 – Meat Feast

Well, the 36 hour fast was successful. Not too hard really, though on the way home (by bike), I started feeling light headaches around my skull. hmmm….

When I got home, I tempered my urge to shovel food into my mouth by slowly making a simple salad. By the time I was ready to sit down and eat it, I realized I had no more olive oil.. so I went with a small drizzle of coconut oil with apple cider vinegar. Random, yes. Tasty, eh. Horrible, no.

Brisket was seared on all sides then thrown into the over (covered) with broth, leek, garlic and oregano. Took a while to cook (3 hours), so I went on with 2 fried eggs, 2 strips of bacon and 2 sausages… PROTEIN! And some sauerkraut to help move it along. Steph made some spinach, so I grabbed some of that too.

After that was done, I sat down with an apple and a few spoons of almond butter. I love sweet apples! Then at last, the meat was ready. Eh.. a little dry and tough (I don’t make brisket often), but it hard to deny the rich flavor of the beef smothered in soft, sweet leeks.

Yes, I essentially ate that 1lb hunk, another almost pound of bacon-sausage-eggs.. but I wasn’t a beached whale gasping for air. I truly ate until I was satisfied. 

I think for the most part, I’ll stick to my standard dinner-to-dinner fast (16-19 hrs). Good challenge though.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

