Sept 20 – Liver Lover

A quick and delicious meal, I can always find time to whip up some Beef Liver, Onions and Eggs.

Last night, I went first to my go-to Salmon Salad, then reheated the rest of the coconut curry cauliflower and boiled some brussel sprouts. These I served as sides to liver dish. This amazingly simply, filling dish starts with grass-fed beef liver chopped into 1″ cubes. I add some bacon grease or lard to frying pan, followed by onions, then bell pepper. Once those soften (even slightly burn), I add in the liver, which really doesn’t need to cook long (dries out easily). After almost a minute, I drop in 2-3 eggs, whip it around a bit, then VOILA! Rich and savory.. this dish could also work well with some fried potatos thrown into the mix and a big sour dill pickle on the side.

Easy dish, lots of fat and calories (tons of B12), along with the many benefits of eating liver:

  • An excellent source of high-quality protein
  • Nature’s most concentrated source of vitamin A
  • All the B vitamins in abundance, particularly vitamin B12
  • One of our best sources of folic acid
  • A highly usable form of iron
  • Trace elements such as copper, zinc and chromium; liver is our best source of copper
  • An unidentified anti-fatigue factor
  • CoQ10, a nutrient that is especially important for cardio-vascular function
  • A good source of purines, nitrogen-containing compounds that serve as precursors for DNA and RNA.

Definately a worth while food item to keep ready in your freezer! And since not nearly enough people like to eat it anymore, it’s MUCH cheaper than buyer grass-fed beef  🙂

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

