Getting Back on the Primal Wagon

It’s been over 50 days since I finished my Primal September, during which I completely abstained from eating grains, sugars, dairy and processed foods. I focused solely on non-starchy vegetables, meats, eggs and healthy fats. This experiment was pretty tough at times, but mostly very manageable. I ate bacon, lard or tallow with eggs at will while mainly practicing IF (intermittent fasting) throughout the day. Ultimately, from Sept 7th to Oct 7th, I lost 15lbs dropping to 192 from 207!

Since this time, I “rewarded” myself with some well-earned treats, however, now that the refined grains, sugars and general overindulgence has push back to around 197, I’m going to have to get back on board. However, since I’m no longer looking for proof that this lifestyle would work for me, I need to strike a balance. How can I make this sustainable over the long run? I will take my tea or coffee with cream occasionally. I will indulge in dark chocolate from time to time. And even the rare piece of bread will cross my plate.

Indeed, I even plan on bringing starches like rice, potatoes and legumes back into the mix. Not for daily consumption, and really only once I’ve reached a more comfortable weight for myself, but these selected items contain no gluten, and their drawbacks (anti-nutrients, glycemic index, xenoestrogens can be diminished through various methods such as soaking and fermenting, or consuming with extra fats.

The key principles though will remain in tact, and I plan on mainly adhering to the main food groups throughout: pastured meats, eggs, greens, animal fats and olive oil, occasional fruits and nuts, as well as Fish Oil and Vit D supplements. And I’m going to log my experiences and other related curiosities here as I found keeping a regular task at hand truly helped to keep my on course.

more to come…

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

