Mission: Primal

I’m on the commuter rail now, coming back from a visit to Medway to see the family. It’s nice to see my two nieces and play cool Uncle Al for a day, however, it’s not all fun and games. Whenever I find myself out of my usual surroundings, I’m faced with potential obstacles. But no real reason to fret. It’s best always to stay calm and roll with the punches… they’re not going to kill you. But that doesn’t necessarily mean that I should immediately throw up the white flag in surrender. Just control what you’re able to when you’re out and about in the world, and walk the fine line between your principles and others’ discomfort. And that’s what I accomplished.

Even before going Primal, I’ve always been a bit disturbed by what those people eat. I can’t help sounding snobby in this post, and it takes considerably more energy to contain myself when I’m there.. which is also no total success. But they’re not my kids, and nobody likes carefree, inexperienced siblings telling them about raising their children!

The other predicament is infinitely black+white. In fact, it’s so important that I respect the prior of the two, that it makes this one much easier on me from an ethic vs. manners standpoint… making my own food for lunch or dinner. I’m sort of a black sheep anyway, so this isn’t totally unheard behavior.

Around lunch time, when the girls were having canned soup, I had an interesting soup my pops had made (he’s also somewhat of a culinary odd-ball in the house): chicken broth with tuna, fried egg ribbon-strips and yu-choy. The only not so primal element was the unavoidably salty, artificial broth powder. But he was eager to get me to try it, so I dove on in. Besides being overly salty, it was actually quite. I’ll definitely try it again at my place. And for dinner that evening, my sister had popped a couple of chicken breasts into bagged with Italian dressing, then later baked them in tomatoes and onions, and served with rice pilaf. Not truly the worst main dish (similar to one of my favorite primal dishes), but I had better options, which turns into a bitter-sweet story…

My pops never had more than a tbsp of the beautiful gift of lard I gave him over 3 months ago, claiming he just wasn’t a big fan of it… Booo! Argh, oh well. I decided he didn’t deserve the rest (sure he was devastated) and took it with me. But I only learned of this tragic neglect after I sought it out for my own dinner that evening. One must learn to use whatever’s on hand to make the best possible decisions. I mixed a handful of hamburg with egg and spices into a big patty, then fried up it up in my amazing lard. This was accompanied by brussel sprouts and a yam in lots of butter! Then I covered my meat patty with some sauerkraut and drizzled some brown mustard on top. Really quite a tasty meal, and my sister didn’t mind at all that I made my own. Parents have too many responsibilities to mind their siblings eccentricities   🙂

Also, it helps to slowly pressure your pops into eating more whole foods.. enter the yams, brussel sprouts and real butter to contrast with their toxic Country Crock, neon green (probably not far from radio active) Trix yogurt, and endless baked goods my sister was preparing for the kids. God help me when I visit for Christmas; my sister is a cookie-cake-cinnamon-roll-and-pie-baking MACHINE! And quite good at it I must say! 

Again, to each their own, but it’s tough for me to bite back my tongue when it’s my family sitting unknowingly in Big Food’s crosshairs. Maybe in time.. but at least I did well!

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mission: Primal

  1. Pingback: Accidentally Primal | The Primal Pig

Leave a Reply

