Accidentally Primal

As I mentioned two posts back, I visited my father’s house this past weekend (mainly to see my nieces). My pops had made this soup recently which he’s told me about several times since. Well, for lunch that day, I got my chance to try some. It’s such a simple recipe:

– Chicken Broth
– Yu-Choy
– Egg Whites (fried, then sliced into ribbons)
– Can of Tuna

Besides the artificial broth powder my pops uses, it was surprisingly good, healthy and simple. And best of all, it’s completely primal! So, I decided to make it again at my place for Steph and me. Unfortunately, the Whole Foods nearby only had Napa Cabbage or Bok Choy. I’m not trying to knock Bok Choy, but while healthy, it’s never been my favorite. Yu-Choy is leafy at the top and the stock is more similar in texture and taste to broccoli stems. No huge deal though.

Not having chicken broth on hand at the time, I bought the simplest organic broth I could from WF’s, More Than Gourmet. Just water, chicken, fat, mirapoix, tapioca starch (better than corn/wheat), geletin, salt and spices; no dextrose, corn starch, hydrogenated oils, msg, etc. Tossed the broth and chopped choy into the pot, fried the egg whites on the side and stripped them, then threw those in as well with the tuna.. Voila! Very simple, tasty and satisfying. The perfect, light winter dinner.

And to improve it further, I added a bit of Sracha, Green Onion and Sesame Oil to my next helping. Well done, pops. Well done.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accidentally Primal

  1. Dad Ruppert says:

    I am glad my son liked my ‘primal’ soup. He was right about it being too salty and I will switch to More Than Gourmet broth next time. A couple of notes on the recipe to make it better. Make sure you have solid, flaked tuna – esthetically better presentation and more tasteful as a soup than the cheaper tuna. Also the original recipe calls for fresh spinach but we both like yu-choy better. Also you can sprinkle chopped green onion on top of the soup. Get going son!

Leave a Reply

