Company Lunches

I thought I’d throw out a post about how I handle the free lunches we get on the weekend shifts I regularly take part in. To keep myself above water, I often head into work on a Saturday or Sunday for a 7-hr CSR shift; better OT pay here than I’m likely to get with most part-time jobs people have. 

Anyways, the company provides free lunch on the weekend, and most of the time I simply abstain, especially if I’m fasting until dinner; this especially goes for pizza or burrito days. However, this weekend, I found a way to joinin on the social event of “looking like cattle waiting to get at the corporate trough,” while remaining primal. Yesterday, we had sandwiches and salad. So, I heaped mountains salad with olive oil and vinegar, along with two roast beef sandwiches. After eating the salad(s – seconds), I took the roast beef out of the sandwich and tore into it. I realize that the beef probably had preservatives and was grain-fed beef, but I’m willing to take the small hit compared to the accompanying mayo and bread.

Today, they brought us rotisserie chicken quarters with Mac & Cheese and Corn. Simple… so simple. I just ate the chicken – done. Plus, as an added bonus, I’m saving the extra skin, scrap meat and bones. I’m going to take these bad larry’s home to add to the other chicken scraps bag in my freezer, which I make into a great chicken broth next week. If only they had also served raw carrots, onions and parsley   🙂

Being Primal can be tough if you religate yourself to “needing” to avoid social events. I say just make do with what you have in most cases and don’t be afraid of the “watchful eyes”. I often welcome the opportunity to explain why I do the ridiculous things I do. I’ve rarely encountered someone who’s truly weird out by my lifestyle, but rather just curious.

I think the people who are particularly weirded out, are those who are fotunate enough to catch that crazy guy walking outside with an open pack of Applegate Farms Grass-fed Roast Beef on his break… seriously, I just tear into fingerfuls of lunch meat! Sometimes, it feels good to just do whatever I want without feeling self-conscious; it’s quite liberating.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Company Lunches

  1. Richard says:

    Definitely agree. The roast beef isn’t ideal, but compared to what most people eat that sounds perfectly fine to me.

    In my opinion the lifestyle shouldn’t need to close you off from the world or from social events you want to attend. So if you go to one, and make a whole-hearted effort to make the best decisions you can based on what’s available, I think that’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

