Christmas Blunders

Well, I made a valiant effort to stay primal during the holidays, but chocolate (crafty basterd) got the best of me. Nor did I keep up my IF. With treats, holiday parties and feasts abounding, I found myself unable to resist (though to be fair, I very well at the company party.. stuck to meat, veggies and two beers, as well as one piece of cake!)

Some of my new button downs (thanks pops) are fitting a bit tighter than I’d have hoped, but it hasn’t gone out of control. I’ll be back on track within a fortnight. Plan’s the same as before the holidays; load up on soups, greens, pastured meats and fats, keep alcohol to a minimum, and eat once a day.

The only other thing I’ve noticed is that I’m having more cream with my coffee (and more coffee, in general) than usual, so I’m going to cut way back and buy some organic, grass-fed heavy cream. Overall, I’m not that disappointed because this is just part of the yearly cycle, though I’m hoping to be leaner and leaner each time these cyclical speed-bumps come around.

And officially as of Christmas, I may have some primal converts at home and at the office. I’m excited to get them on board, and think that in reviewing this material, I’ll also be able to fine tune my own daily routine.

Stay primal!

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Blunders

  1. Richard says:

    Good luck with getting back on track and with the converts. I’ve found it really hard to make people want to change their lifestyle. Most that I’ve run into are pretty resistant to cutting back on pasta and bread. I figure they’ll probably get on board once their health deteriorates enough (like mine did)… Or maybe they won’t.

    • Primal Pig says:

      Thanks Rich.. going well for me so far. Already trimmed off the 4lbs I put on since mid-December by really diving down deep on carbs (between 40-80g daily) – I don’t enjoy counting, but it’s good to practice this when i need to jumpstart my body.

      Even if they don’t ever completely come over to the paleo-lifestyle, I’ll have at least given them something to think about, some of my family has now embraced homemade stock and lard, and cut back on carbs. We’ll see if this sticks.

Leave a Reply

