Chicken Coconut Soup

Inspired by the cool, chic and happening (not quite so new) noodle restaurant, Wagamama, I’m finally attempting my first coconut milk-based soup. Wagamama is actually a British chain of fusion East Asian dishes (mainly Japanese) where you’re sat at long tables with benches and they prepare several types of noodles, soups, chicken and seafoods, along with typical Japanese sides like miso, seaweed salad and pickles.

They make this amazing coconut soup with chicken and (gluten-free) rice noodles called Chicken Itame, which is really MUCH more of a Thai dish… the cilantro, lime, red chili and coconut milk are the dead giveaways.

I’ve been planning to make something like this for a while and just decided last night that Monday would be the day. I had just finished making soup broth (4th pot in 5 weeks), and I noticed that I still had a can of coconut milk left, so I figured why not. Then we hit up WFs for the rest:

Thai Chicken Coconut Soup:
– Chicken chunks
– Chicken stock
– Coconut milk
– Baby bok choy
– Lemon grass stalk (peeled)
– Diced red bell pepper
– Onion and garlic
– Habenero
– Cilantro
– Lime
– Sesame oil

Saute chicken in a pan in duck fat with a little salt and pepper then set aside once almost done. In a large pot, saute garlic and onion in a little more duck fat until golden. Add in broth, lemon grass and Habenero to the pot. Bring to a boil, then reduce to low simmer. Toss in the coconut milk, bok choy and chicken, along with some sea salt. Simmer for about 10-15 minutes, then let cool for another 5. Salt to desired level, then in large bowls with some fresh-squeezed lime, chopped cilantro and a dab of sesame oil!

Typically served with rice noodles, but I’m going without! I’m very excited to try this out tonight and will report back with my results.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Coconut Soup

  1. Primal Pig says:

    This recipe turned out extremely well. It turns out that only 1/2 a Habenero will be necessary for weak-sauces like me! Also, I had too much broth or two little choy and chicken. Never underestimate how much choy or other leafy greens will shrink down. Also, they overcook and become soft very quickly!

    Otherwise, once the choy and chicken are doubled-up, this will be great a great tasting and satisfying soup!

Leave a Reply

