Paleo It Forward

I know, I’m reaching with that one, but it’s my blog! My brother came over this weekend to learn more about DIY-Paleo Living. So, we went to the Asian market to pick up some chicken bones, feet, seaweed and mushrooms to making stock. As well, we grabbed some ox tail, beef hoof and bones for making a beautiful, gelatinous beef stock!

At Whole Foods, I showed him the go-to items I buy regularly like greens, berries, tubers, pork/beef fat, other meats like grass-fed lamb, coconut milk, oils, etc. We picked up some yams, salted pork and ingradients for my pasta-less meat sauce.

At home, I already had some chicken broth going from the night before which we finished up, strained and set in the fridge. Then we rendered beef suet into a jar of tallow! Always fun stuff. Then we made up the meat sauce.

For eats, we had a salmon salad, smoked sausage, meat sauce, fresh-roasted almonds, soup with cabbage and lots of tea! It’s fun to pass this knowledge on and I hope my brother takes advantage and starts to learn more himself about living primal. I’ve taught others too about basic stocks, cooking with animal fats and other paleo concepts in the hopes that some of it will catch on.

My sincere hope is that one day traditional ingredients and cooking techniques won’t be a ‘lost art’, and will become common knowledge once again. Much of our society has strayed from the path, but we can herded back one at a time.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment