Bone Stock – Winter’s Serum

There’s nothing better in the winter than stews, braised meats, curries and soups, all of which call for Bone Stock!  Well, I went to Super 88 (Asian market) to stock up on femur and joint bones, cow tails and oxtail.  However, they didn’t have any femur bone, so I doubled up on oxtail and hooves, while also grabbing a pack on beef tendon (for the first time).

This savory, mineral rich stock will cook on low heat (very important) for at least 48 hours.  It’s worth the time and … “aroma” which will inevitably permeate the apartment over the next few days.  Full of minerals, vitamins, collagen and gelatin, I drink broth whether cold or hot as a supplement just as often as I incorporate it into sauces, soups and stews.

I could list off the myriad of health benefits to bone broth in your regular diet, but there’s just WAY to many, so I’m just going to provide some of my favorite links:

http://www.westonaprice.org/food-features/why-broth-is-beautiful
http://www.marksdailyapple.com/cooking-with-bones/#axzz1jYVViEoy
http://paleodietlifestyle.com/making-fresh-bone-stock/

Anyways, without femur, but with add tendon, my broth’s underway and I still have another jug of frozen chicken stock I made months ago… Here’s a fun picture I took which just looked so amazing:

Only about $25 for the stock ingredients

And here’s a little snippet from Mark’s Daily Apple about why odd bits like feet and tendon are essential for an amazingly nutrient-rich stock:

Feet:
People find feet gross, for some reason. Maybe it’s the fact that they’re in constant contact with the ground, and the ground is definitely not sterile. I guess I see where they’re coming from, but I look at feet differently. I like the fact that feet are what the animal uses to get around, because that means the feet bear all the weight. And any body part that has to handle a lot of force – like the foot – tends to have a lot of collagen, cartilage, and other connective tissue to deal with all that stress. That’s why feet make the best stock. Chicken feet, pig feet, beef feet – they’re all incredibly gelatinous and when you cover them with water and apply heat for 24-48 hours, amazing stuff happens. There is very little meat, so soup/broth/stock is the best option here.

Tendon:
When most people want real broth, they turn to bones. I mean, bone broth is great. It’s alliterative, for one. It makes your house smell good (or terrible, depending on whom you ask), and it is filling on a cold day in a way that only meaty liquid can be. But if you’re a true rich broth fiend, … if you’re all about the gelatin – you had better go out and procure yourself some beef tendons. A tendon is a prime piece of connective tissue designed to hold muscle to bone and withstand all the crazy tension and force and stress that such a relationship inevitably entails. Thus, it is pure collagen, which means good things for your broth. Of course, it’s just collagen without the bone, so the broth won’t have that boney meatiness, but if you add a few bones to the mix you’ll get the best of both worlds.

So, on that note, next time you pass ethnic markets (especially Asian and Halal), pop in for some bones, feet, oxtail and tendon!  Buying or roasting a rotisserie chicken.. keep the skeleton.  Ribs?  Save those too!  I keep a Ziploc bag or two in the freezer to store my extra bones, and save them there until I have enough.

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bone Stock – Winter’s Serum

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Cabbage Rolls | The Primal Pig

Leave a Reply

