Meatza Party!!

Where's the wheat?!

A long time, major fan of pizza, there’s a time every few months, when I think about how amazing it would be to order a pizza for dinner, or grab a slice or two somewhere in Newbury St while on my lunch break. 9.5 times out of 10, I succeed in just walking right on thinking about how good I feel, or how good Boloco’s gonna taste (Boston’s Chipotle).

But now… now I’m equipped with a replacement: MEATZA! Sure, classic pizza will always a soft, chubby place in my heart, but this guys got everything I want in a great slice of ZA! The meat, the sauce, cheese! I heard of this paleo / primal phenomenon a few times over the past couple years, but I finally made it for myself tonight! I’ll be making it again tomorrow  🙂

Pizza Crust Basics: (Feeds one hungry Alex)
–  1lb ground beef
–  Tsp thyme
–  Tsp oregano
–  1/2 tsp garlic powder
–  1/2 cup fine chopped onion
–  1/2 tbsp red chili flakes
–  Pinch of sea salt (don’t need much for the “crust”)

Sauce:
–  1 cup juice from canned San Marzano tomatoes (pay extra for these)
–  Tsp oregano
–  2 pinches of sea salt
–  Dash of garlic powder (I really get lazy w/ the real thing)
–  Tbsp tomato paste
–  Swig or two of dry red wine (I used Chianti)

Toppings: (your choice; just what I used)
–  Cheese (I used TJ’s Mozzarella/Jack/Cheddar blend)
–  Chunked San Marzano tomatoes from the juice (above)
–  Cooked sausage (only had smoke kielbasa – it actually worked!)
–  Green pepper strips and sliced mushrooms (saute first)
–  Fire Roasted Red Pepper strips

Now, cook it up!

Do NOT attempt to toss - doesn't work out well at all!

I used my favorite dish.. my 12″ cast-iron skillet, but for thinner crust (recommended) and/or larger meatzas, use a large rectangular baking pan with a rim at least 3/4″ tall to keep the rendered fat in the pan. Bake on 450° F for about ten minutes, then drain out the fat asap. Then I let it sit there a for a few minutes of firm up a bit. While the crust was baking I tossed the sauce ingredients into a small sauce pan on medium high heat and wire-whisked frequently while it reduced down to at least 60% of its original volume (no, no… I just play a chef on web  😉  Let the sauce cool.. taste for saltiness. Set the broiler now to high.

Then add your sauce, cheese and toppings. I like to add sauce and sauteed veggies first because they’re already cooked and warm, the cheese comes next, then the roasted red peppers and cold sausage.

Then broil the Meatza for about 6-8 minutes, until cheese gets those nice gold, brown spots! Remove and let cool on a chopping board. Be careful when lifting – go from both sides if possible. Or use parchment paper under the Meatza… I ran out a while back. Cut and serve.. dust with crushed, dry oregano if you mad classy like ME!

Oh? Not fancy enough for you!? Fine, remember that bottle of Chianti you used in the sauce? Well, pour yourself some more class!

Enjoy Yo-Self!

Honestly, I loved this recipe. Thank you Mark’s Daily Apple and Free the Animal for the recipes and inspiration! I’m back on the pizza market.. well not out in public.. they’re not likely to offer 100% Beef as an option right next to thin crust, whole wheat or ancient grains-blend, but my .. kitchen’s gonna make a killin’ on me!

About Primal Pig

“Let food be your medicine, and medicine be your food.” -Hippocrates I'm 28 years old, living in Boston. I studied international business and culinary arts. I try to incorporate my experience abroad, nutritional research and ancient culinary traditions in my life. I'm not trying to change the world, but I'm taking charge of how I make my way through. Interested in paleo / primal living, or just tired of convention wisdom? Go ahead and question away.. many people don't have enough questions! Too many "whatever you say" answers, accepting "experts" regurgitated "knowledge". If you're curious about other nutritional / lifestyle options, let me know. If I don't know exactly what you need, I can at least point you in the right direction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

